Another stupid D&M post about having a reflective New Years


I haven’t engaged with the blogosphere much in the last two weeks. There are many reasons and excuses, but mainly I didn’t want to write while I’ve been trying to escape a hardcore hangover.

I’m sort of seeing the light of day now. I’m leaving the bedroom before 4pm now.

Fake drunk Chris

Also, I’ve set a goal to finish the first draft of my novel by New Years Eve. It’s achievable, but time consuming. I’ve been working on it since last October. 14 months and I’ve just hit 120,000 words. I don’t brag about word length anymore. It’s juvenile and who gives when most of it isn’t a good combination of words. Word length says absolutely nothing about word quality. It just means more to edit, and I don’t look forward to doing the rewrite.

How come you’ve never heard about my novel before? I’ve been embarrassed to talk about it. The monkeys laugh at me and I didn’t want humans to do the same thing.

What do Monkey Kings write books about? Well, I don’t know about other monkey kings, but the novel is a supernatural murder mystery, drama, and school yard romance. There are no monkeys in it, but in the first draft the main character might release a poisonous snake in his English class to get out of his oral presentation. I’m still tweaking the label but I have plenty of time before I’m ready for an agent.

But I didn’t really write this post to talk about my book. I came on here to procrastinate writing the last scene. It’s a scene set years later from the rest of the book. All grown up, like in Harry Potter. It’s necessary to have this scene because without it, the ending is too savage, abrupt and dark to be popular. Now it will be a wistful and bittersweet ending.

Actually, I want to write about what New Years means to me and maybe even to you. For sure, the meanings of holidays have changed. Christmas has shifted from celebrating the birth of Jesus to simply enjoying life with friends and family (debatable) and if you listen to the monkeys opinions, living the teachings of the Black Eyed Peas.

The meanings for New Years Eve and Day have also changed.

Because really, it’s a time to reflect what we want out of the next year, and to evaluate whether we need to change our plans from the following year. In this fast paced time of consumerism, it has become harder to take time to be still. To pause and to reflect. One of the only times we really do this naturally is during these two days.

I want to quote part of Queen Elizabeth’s 2013 Christmas speech.

“We all need to get the balance right between action and reflection. With so many distractions, it is easy to forget to pause and take stock. Be it through contemplation, prayer, or even keeping a diary, many have found the practice of quiet personal reflection surprisingly rewarding, even discovering greater spiritual depth to their lives.”

At the risk of having already sounded a little preachy and a little pro-establishment, the Monkey King thinks she has got it right. Hear, hear, Queen Elizabeth! We Monarchs sometimes say some wise things.

While at some point I want to make a more elaborate list of New Years resolutions filled with silliness and good humour, I want to give you some earnest and genuine points I wish to achieve in this post, especially relating to All Hail the Monkey King.

We reached about 2000 views and 130 followers in the seven months since this blog began. We could have had more but I didn’t want to follow a heap of blogs and then not read them. I wanted to read all the blogs I followed, get used to doing so, and then add some more blogs to actively engage with. It’s proving to be a challenge.

Three blog posts a week has also been difficult, and disheartening. Certainly, I have had a small group of loyal and engaged readers who understand what I am trying to do. And this is to make a unique, fun and creative fictional blog that almost takes the piss of the current main blog genres. Commentators, you are the reason I am continuing to write this. However, I haven’t had as much time to spend on each blog post, and the quality of grammar has dropped.

While I listen to Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Tuesday’s Gone” on Spotify in a Starbucks café overlooking a temple lilypond, I am promising you (the reader) that I will be cutting down to one post a week. I will also be focusing on other aspects in my life, such as seeking employment in Bali, and at least dating a few times without being stupid about it.

The Monkey King isn’t saying that he’s going to go tame, not at all, but he does need to spend less time obsessing on the internet.

Now with the risk of getting a bit soppy and awkward, I love you all, especially my engaged readers. This isn’t a goodbye, only a written renewal of some form of friendship we have made the last seven months.

Here’s to sharing our lives with complete strangers for another year.

XOXO

Categories: Humor, Philosophy | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Another stupid D&M post about having a reflective New Years

  1. ‘Here’s to sharing our lives with complete strangers for another year.’ Haha! Absolutely! I’ve pretty much followed your blog since I started my own in April and I love your writing, so I would LOVE to read your novel.

    I also follow it because I am ridiculously jealous of your lifestyle – I envy the fact that you are living as you want. It looks like you’ve had an awesome few weeks!

    Happy New Year Chris!

    • Thanks Suzie! I might have given up if not for the encouragement of you and a few others. I’ve hidden the first draft of the book away, and have now dug out another old manuscript, which I have just started re-writing. The rewrite is only 500 words in, but it’s looking awesome.I guess there’s a good reason rewrites should be done.
      Happy New Year, Suzie!

  2. I agree – it’s important to take some time to reflect and take stock of what’s happened. Part of this is because in the midst of living, it’s hard to see the forest through the trees. I’m glad you didn’t give up. I really enjoy your blog. I’m also happy to hear about your book. I’m sure it’ll be a hoot to read. :) Here’s to a bright future in 2014!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 645 other followers

