Chewbacca is king


10/05/2013

THIS morning, the monkeys gathered around the majesty of my naked personage and I ordered them to address me as ‘King Chewbacca.’To enforce this idea, I taught them the wookie growl, and this is to become the Ubud Monkey Forest party anthem.

Interesting fact about Ubud monkeys #1: they can write. They stood in a long line, which ended at the roots of the tree, to show off to their king what was likely to be pages of a masterpiece, beginning with ‘It was the best of times. It was the worst of times.’ I prodded the smuggest monkey off the branch with my sceptre because unfortunately I couldn’t understand the noble Balinese language, and they made me feel stupid.

Some monkeys can write in English. Abu wrote this manuscript about a bespectacled boy who discovers he’s a wizard.

The plot is very familiar. I suspect he’s plagiarised Spiderman.

Jo-Jo even speaks a few words. Mostly ‘Get the bloody hell away boss man. You don’t eat my tail,’ which could possibly be a token of respect in Balinese.

 

Categories: Bali | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

