The Monkey King’s daddy issues


SURE, you would think my parents could just be proud of me being a Monkey King. But they aren’t.

Dad warned me he was coming to visit me in Bali for Christmas. He was going to stay at some five star resort almost an hour out of Ubud and I wasn’t expecting to see him until tomorrow.

Except he walked into the forest. I saw him coming into the forest with a bewildered expression. I screamed “Nooo!” when I saw Mojo offer him candy (Dad didn’t want that candy, believe me).

Dad watched me disgustedly as I climbed down the tree. Examined my long hair and split ends. “Get a shirt on!” he said, wrinkling his nose. It is the first thing he has said to me in two years. He has never forgiven me for failing my Bachelor of Law. (read more about dad here). I remembered then I hadn’t had a shower since the day before yesterday. The humidity really does get to you as  well. I felt sticky and exhausted.

Davie-sketch-web-quality

He said he wasn’t going to take me to stay at a fancy resort looking how I was.

“Good, I’m staying here with my monkeys,” I said, and then he grabbed my arm and dragged me out of the forest. The monkeys howled and chased us and before you know it they had grabbed my dad and were tugging him in eight or nine different directions.

“Stop!” I said as dad screamed “my arms! My arms!”

“Let’s go away and have some family time without the monkeys,” dad said, and got up, dusting himself. He yelled angrily as he popped his arm socked back in. “I just haven’t got anyone to spend Christmas with, except you.” He looked so desperate and made me feel so guilty.

“Alright, I’ll go with you,” I said. “Let me get some gear together.”

Dad walked to the car he hired and slid into the back seat. I told the monkeys they had to stay as I dragged a satchel of possessions into the boot. The driver got out of his seat to help me. I gave him money and he grinned and winked when six of the monkeys smuggled themselves in with the bag.

We shut the door and drove away. Dad didn’t even look at me when we were in the car. He was on his mobile phone. When I heard the monkeys make noises in the boot, screaming at each other that they were cheating at the monopoly game they were playing, I would clap or kick at the floor or fake cough. Dad would yell louder into the phone every time I would make these sounds.

Yeah, happy Christmas! I just wanted to be with the monkeys for Christmas and to teach them about this holiday.

Categories: Humor | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “The Monkey King’s daddy issues

  1. I’m so sorry… I hope things improve!

  2. I hope you had a good Christmas. I’m also belated but I hope you had a wonderful birthday. 🙂

    • Thanks Stormy! I’m sorry I haven’t read much of your own blogs lately, I’ve been preoccupied with Christmas, and trying to finish the first draft of my novel before NYE. Also, I ran out of internet download.

      • That’s fine! I know how it goes. 🙂 Life gets busy and that’s just how it is – no worries. I still have some catching up on yours too, so it all works out in the end. Novel huh? That will be interesting. Looking forward to seeing how that works out.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

